2019 Governor’s Office Black History Month Community Service Leader’s Award


2019 Governor’s Office Black History Month Community Service Leaders Award


Organization founders are Doris J. Spencer and Annette J. Funn, two active community citizens who asked themselves the question, “Who is speaking on a variety of issues from the African American perspective?” They realized a need, and the rest is history.

The mission of CBW is to address issues concerning education, health, economic empowerment, and the overall well-being of African American women and families within the county. This mission includes our vision to improve the quality of life for African American families.

We envision ourselves as an advocacy group that uses pro-active, programmatic action, disseminating information, networking with other community organizations, and connect with people in need of resources and services. We establish cultural influence by sharing our heritage and its impact on today’s society, training and personal empowerment.


  • Adult and youth mentoring programs
  • Information technology training and access to decrease the Digital Divide
  • Identification of Health needs and issues
  • Identification of Special Education issues
  • Establishment of scholarship programs
  • Development of youth and young adult leaders
  • Participation in the Local and State government decision-making process

The organization is not part of another group, and to CBW’s knowledge, it is the only one of its kind, organized in the nation with this name and a broad-based, issue-focused agenda. CBW is non-partisan, and its membership is open to those who support CBW initiatives. CBW does not support or oppose political candidates.

Doris J. Cammack Spencer states that there is no easy solution to closing the education gap of achievement. Involvement by all the community can make a difference in providing support to young people during their growing years. That includes providing them with a supportive environment and positive experiences to obtain an excellent education. Solving the educational gap in achievement requires everyone to get involved – the school, the parent(s), the community, and the church. Too much tax money is spent on educating students to produce results that are not productive for all school children and society. You got to “show up.”

The Founding Members of CBW include: Ernestine Brooks, Charlotte Clark, Barbara Fetterhoff, Annette Funn, Sharon Gray, Bridgette Hird, Doris Holland, Diane Hollaway-Lockamy, Tess Jones-Smith, Glossie Leake, Evelyn Long, Pamela Mackall, Sonia Hinds, Sylvia Parker, Kim Mackall, Barbara Reid, Shirley Smith, Doris J. Cammack Spencer, Dawn Tucker, Kirsti Uunila, and Elena Whipple.